Sports Interactive uses cookies on its websites in order to provide enhanced functionality to users.

You can block cookies by activating the setting on your browser that allows you to refuse the setting of all or some cookies. However, if you use your browser settings to block all cookies (including essential cookies) you may not be able to access all or parts of our site.

Read more about the individual cookies we use and how to recognise them by clicking here. You can view the cookie policy at any time by using the Cookie Policy link at the bottom of the site.

21st May 2012

FM Awards: The detailed results. Part 1

The results are in and the victors announced but we're not quite done with the Football Manager Awards yet. This is the first part of two where we'll delve into the details of who you voted for in each award.

In this first part, we'll take a look at the Manager of the Year, Youth Team Manager of the Year, Managerial Masterstroke, By Mutual Consent, Technical Area Theatrics and Triumph over Adversity awards with the rest following later in the week.

Manager of the Year (in association with Talksport)

We'll start with the highlight, the prestigious Manager of the Year award. It was a close fought battle, with the lead changing several times throughout the voting process, but Alan Pardew of Newcastle United came out top, sneaking the victory by barely one percent over Antonio Conte and his unbeaten Juventus side as well as Jurgen Klopp and his double winning Borussia Dortmund team.

Rene Girard of Montpellier and Roberto Mancini of Manchester City take up the final two spots.

Youth Team Manager of the Year (in association with Kick!)

The Football Manager Awards aren't just about the big names, however, as credit goes to the men responsible for bringing through the next generation of superstars.

It's Oscar Garcia Junyent of Barcelona who takes the victory for his role in yet another incredible crop of players at La Masia. Andrea Strammaccioni of Inter Milan followed closely in second for winning the Next Gen Series but some way behind where Kit Symons of Fulham, Adi Viveash of Chelsea and Terry McPhillips of Blackburn Rovers.

Managerial Masterstroke (in association with CaughtOffside)

The Managerial Masterstroke award is for the manager who, at some point in the season, made a single decision which changed their season for the better.

This year it was Sir Alex Ferguson for bringing Paul Scholes out of retirement and adding some much needed experience to their midfield which you've chosen as the ultimate masterstroke of the season. Just like the title chase though, it was a close fought battle with Roberto Martinez' genius tactical re-shuffle at Wigan staying in the running right until the dying end. It's scant consolation, but Sir Alex held on this time around!

Also rans were Roberto di Matteo at Chelsea, Brian McDermott at Reading and Martin Jol at Fulham.

By Mutual Consent (in association with Pocket-lint)

Next up is the award for the most baffling of managerial dismissals. It's an inevitability in football that a club's owner or board of directors sack a manager without any logical reason behind it, but it was Lee Clark's sacking from Huddlesfield, just weeks after setting a Football League record of 43 matches unbeaten.

Antoine Kombouare's dismissal from Paris Saint-Germain whilst sitting top of the table was some way behind in second place with Simon Grayson of Leeds, Gary Megson of Sheffield Wednesday and Sean O'Driscoll of Doncaster bring up the rest of the pack.

Technical Area Theatrics (in association with Who Ate All The Pies)

There was surely only going to be one winner of this award with Jose Mourinho of Real Madrid proving that only one man can keep the eyes of the world away from the pitch and onto the dugout in the way he can.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger came in second for his serial abuse of water bottles closely followed by enigmatic Swindon gaffer Paolo di Canio. Sunderland boss Martin O'Neil brings up the rear.

Triumph Over Adversity (in association with MSN Games)

If you take over a club flagging in the league, two goals down after the first leg of the Champions League last 16 and in the space of a few months, turn that team around and end the season with the first Champions League trophy in your club's history and the FA Cup, then it can quite easily be called a triumph. Indeed, that is what you've voted it as with Roberto di Matteo achievements at Chelsea adding to the celebrations this week by claiming the win in this category.

Roberto Martinez's dramatic turn around of Wigan's season wasn't far behind in second with Frank de Boer title win at Ajax, Roy Hodgson claiming of the England job and Ally McCoist's triumphant Old Firm win in incredibly pressurised circumstances filling in the rest of the places.

You can read part 2 by clicking here.